Education Committee


Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, 72nd Annual Surveyors’ Institute is being held virtually on January 27th thru 29th, 2021 and the method of delivery and presentation of the scholarships has not been determined at this time. Berntsen International, Seiler Instrument, and Leica Geosystems will each award one scholarship, the WSLS Foundation will award five scholarships. The WSLS Foundation scholarships will be presented in honor of Society members in recognition of their contributions to WSLS and the surveying profession.

The Education Committee is currently accepting applications for "WSLS Institute Scholarships". Description, qualifications, and application process are detailed on the Scholarship page.

Applications can be found here.

Please contact Howard Herrild at to obtain scholarship application and criteria.

Scholarship Recipient History

Chronologic list of Scholarship recipients

Committee Charges

  • Promote scholarships with notices to eligible schools.
  • Prepares notices to announce the scholarship program and application forms.
  • Review applications and select the winners in time for publication in the December issue of the Wisconsin Professional Surveyor.
  • Promotes a paper writing contest, to include a notice in the March and June issues of the Wisconsin Professional Surveyor.
  • Continue exploring the possibility of a four year degree program in surveying in Wisconsin, Until that happens, it supports and encourages the continuation of a four year degree program at neighboring state schools.
  • Distribute the film, Professional Land Surveying: A Career Without Boundaries.
  • Prepare a brief for publication about the pro’s and con’s of a four year degree and continue exploring an in State 2+2 surveying degree between the vocational schools and University System.
  • Meet with the CST Program Committee to discuss CST as an evaluation tool for future employment and pro’s and con’s of a certificate needed for employment.
  • Investigate private online education opportunities and its presence on the WSLS website.
  • Use the WSLS Website to promote the committee and the value to the members of the WSLS.
  • Appoint an Education Committee member to liaison with the Foundation to assist with communication on scholarship matters.


Howard Herrild III
2740 W Mason St, PO Box 19042
Green Bay, WI 54307
(O) (920)498-6317

Committee Members

Cody Bromerich, James Crossfield, Jeff DeMuth, John Ellingson, Eric Fuller, Adam Gile, Jon Hardbarger, Howard Herrild, Ron Jacobson, Mark Kamin, David Langhoff, Tom Leslie, Brett Lotto, Bob O'Neill, Jim Sehloff, Carl Shangraw, Alysen Tierney, Devon Vanden Heuvel, Terry Van Hout, Trent Williams, Robert Winat.

Copyright 2021, Wisconsin Society of Land Surveyors. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software